My Shawshank Redemption Experience

shawshank-redemption-rain

Photo from artofbeinghere.com

Last night, September 14, I was feeling lazy to do all my school works and other chores perhaps because I just got home from an exhausting dance rehearsals, was too full to move a limb, and over all tired from the day. So I said, “I wanna watch a movie.”

Just so you know, I’m currently in that phase in my life where I’m fascinated with either classic, foreign movies, or socially-constructed movies. So I scanned through my folder (labelled ‘New’ because they were just stocked and not yet watched). At first, I intended to watch 12 Years a Slave but then I asked my roommate, who was watching with me, if he had already watched The Shawshank Redemption. He said yes, adding that it was good.

I remember how I got to discover the existence of this movie: One time, I was asking my teacher what good movies to watch and then she mentioned this. The Shawshank Redemption.

That was two years ago and it never went out of my mind. Last month when I was looking for good movies to copy from a friend’s hard drive, I saw it. The Shawshank Redemption. And the rest was a night of inspiration and sadness.

So I watched the movie, occasionally giggling at the funny and witty lines and brooding over the sad scenes such as when Brooks committed suicide over the fact that he cannot survive the ‘outside’ world.

tsr55.jpg

Brooks as he embark on the outside world full of fear and doubts. Phot from awardsdaily.com

I was struck by the lead actor, playing Andy Dufresne: his nice lips, beautiful eyes, and his sexy way of speaking. That’s me, drooling over Tom Robbins that is probably now in his 40s or 50s because I’m a late bloomer for classics. That scene where Andy got out of the sewer, it was raining and he ripped off his clothes to do that pose as a free man: that was Andy Dufresne at his sexiest. God, it was so hot! With the rain and the topless shot? I thought, now here’s another DILF. 😉

I was also smiling when I first saw the younger Morgan Freeman playing Red. I’ve always liked him. He’s a serious actor. And I like that he did the narration. He’s very convincing.

I liked the way they portrayed the reality of jail: the gangs, the violence, and the abuse of authority. The scenes pertaining to this element of the film was well-played.

And so I watched and watched and watched and watched. Then it ended.

I was speechless. I remember my roommate telling me “I told you it was good” and I could only smile because I couldn’t understand which emotions dominate which. I was very happy and relieved to see Red and Andy reunited again. I was sad of the fact that long-term prisoners find it so hard to make it outside after years of constant routine and discipline. I was also sad because such a good movie has to end; I want to meet the characters. I was moved by the idea of friendship and the perseverance of Andy to escape the prison. Overwhelmed by the beauty of this film that I was speechless. Really inspiring.

Thinking about it now, I’d say that sometimes, you get to watch a really moving movie that makes you wanna wish you can meet the characters and thank them for making you laugh, making you cry, making you feel human again. This film is beautiful. My heart aches to hug Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman.

Well? Let me end here, quoting Andy: get busy living or get busy dying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

