My Top 15 Favorite Katy Perry Songs

 

katy-perry-cover-02-billboard-650

I like Katy Perry. Aside from being a Little Monster, I’m also a proud Katy Cat. We cannot deny how famous Katy is right now, not only because she is the most followed person on Twitter, but mostly because of her pop hits. So here’s a glimpse of my Katy side as I present my Top 15 Most Favorite Katy Perry songs sorted according to their vibe and theme.

Blues

  1. The One That Got Away (acoustic version) (Teenage Dream: The Complete Confection)

TheOneThatGotAwayAcoustic.jpg

Photo from katyperry.wikia.com

This is by far my ultimate favorite Katy Perry song. I love it because of the sad imagery of the song plus the touching music video. I like singing the lyrics feeling like I’m the persona who lost someone. Moreover, I can sing along to the song while hitting the right notes. So, two thumbs up!

  1. Thinking of You (One of the Boys)

Made by wan-mctatas

Photo from coverlandia.blogspot.com

Since I have an inclination towards tragically-themed songs, this is also a favorite of mine. When I hear this song, sometimes I’d prefer just listening to Katy singing it as if she’s telling me a sad story. And it usually works in terms of rousing the blues. And the music video! Another tragic love story. I love how they started and ended the video with Katy preparing to go to the funeral.

  1. I’m Still Breathing (One of the Boys)

Katy-Perry-I-m-Still-Breathing-katy-perry-35306439-446-446.jpg

Photo from fanpop.com

Another sad song from the album One of the Boys. I love this song because of the vibe it sends me – a sad suicide attempt after a failed romance. Although this song may have a more tragic theme, the two previous ones had catchy tunes unlike this one. This song is like the surface of water flowing in one calm direction.

  1. Lost (One of the Boys)

6866296572_7c5c8d03cf.jpg

Photo from flickr.com

Ah. This one is not about love. I think this one deals with a personal conflict of being left behind always. I like to listen to this song when I feel like I’ve lost my driving force to continue. I like how the lyrics of this song seem to know what I feel every time and assures me that I’m not the only person with that problem.

 

Feel Good Love Songs

  1. E.T. ft. Kanye West (Teenage Dream)

katy-perry-et-artwork-600x600

Photo from katyperry.com

An alien love story with catchy lines and an amazing beat? That’s E.T. The beauty of this song lies on the aforementioned factors. I just love singing along to this song especially in the chorus. Kiss me. K-k-kiss me… Take me. T-t-take me… 🙂

  1. Unconditionally (Prism)

Allegedly a song for John Mayer. I love the calm verses before the outburst of feelings in the chorus. I like how this song escalates from the start to the end. This song makes loving a feel-good experience, which, based on my experience, most of the time, untrue.

  1. It Takes Two (Prism)

14709596476_572c633bfe_b.jpg

Photo from katyperry.16mb.com

This feel good song is a good sing-along song. It has a good beat and a fuzzy-feeling vibe on the chorus.

  1. Legendary Lovers (Prism)

Katy-Perry-Legendary-Lovers-katy-perry-36944431-607-604.jpg

Photo from taringa.net

I love the imagery in this song, using the classic love story characters like Juliet and Cleopatra and romantic features such as ‘Take me down to the river, underneath the blood orange sun. Say my name like a scripture, keep my heart beating like a drum. ‘ It makes a dance-able, tribal-ish song that would have had an amazing music video.

Self Anthems

  1. By the Grace of God (Prism)

tumblr_mvdth8ZWvG1rv9afno1_1280.jpg

Photo from mathewyu.tumblr.com

This song had once been my anthem when I was going through something. I learned Katy wrote this song while keeping up with her life and career after her dramatic divorce. This reminds us of a young Katy Perry writing gospel songs. This song had always comforted me in my own solitude so thanks, Katy, for doing this record.

  1. Double Rainbow (Prism)

885708314ffeb55ec4079ccc7c675fd7.jpg

Photo from pinterest.com

Co-written by Sia, this song has a very calm vibe talking about the greatness of finding one’s true love. No matter how sad you are of your status, this song will speak to you, saying ‘Hang on, buddy. When it’s your turn, it will also be a phenomenal love story.’

  1. Firework (Teenage Dream)

Firework-1280x1280

Photo from katypery.com

Ah, the famous self-anthem by Katy. This song, written by Katy as inspired by a line in a book her ex-husband showed her, has been an inspirational song to all of us. Songs like this just make you wonder of the magic music has that can lift our spirits up and make us feel better. Plus, the music video is motivational, as well.

  1. Pearl (Teenage Dream)

Pearl-Fanmade-Single-Covers-katy-perry-22742381-400-400.jpg

Photo from fanpop.com

I like how this song is relatively not famous because somehow, the public has not exploited its essence which is about empowering women who have been living under the shadow of men. So, ladies out there, listen to this song because you could be a Statue of liberty, you could be a Joan of Arc. 🙂

  1. Wide Awake (Teenage Dream: The Complete Confection)

Katy-Perry-Wide-Awake.jpg

Photo from katyperry.com

I don’t know but I feel good listening to this song. The message is relatively similar: self-realizations.

Pop Hits

  1. I Kissed a Girl (One of the Boys)

KATYPERRYIKISSEDAGIRL1000

Photo from katyperry.com

I like this song because of its great musicality. And loved it more when Katy did an mellow version of this during one of her concerts.

  1. Teenage Dream (Teenage Dream)

TeenageDream_single_txt-1280x1280

Photo from katyperry.com

Very catchy tune that I can easily sing-along to. Aside from the pop element of this song, it has a certain vibe that makes you feel like a teenager once again.

So, there you are. Do you agree with my list? Feel free to comment or share your own Top Katy Perry fave songs. 🙂


 

©Article photo from www.billboard.com

 

Leave a Reply

