Toby

Last night was fun.

And as much as I would like to refer

To an intimate experience,

I really meant the dance.

 

It was a dance when I danced for you,

when my eager feet longed to move

Close to yours where I can step on them

And lead me a waltz.

 

It was a dance when I locked gazes with you

for a second, every once in a while.

It was a dance when I fell in love

With the way you jump and sweat and catch the light;

Fell in love with how picture-perfect your smile was

That I wished I had a Polaroid with me

To capture that moment and hand you your photo.

Fell in love with how you pull your shirt up to your face to relieve it with sweat,

And how lovelier it would be

To first-hand experience how to trace that line of hair down to our ecstasy.

 

Oh, Tobi.

I just learned today

That you are married

And that I fell deeply in love with the man that you are.

But last night was fun.

Because it was our dance. Our very own dance.

 

 

©All rights reserved. Photo from littlepawz.tumblr.com

 

Leave a Reply

